Executive Committee

Professor of Classics, English, ICLS
Co-Director of Program in Hellenic Studies

Associate Director
Nadia Urbinati / Political Science

Kyriakos Tsakopoulos Professor of Political Theory and Hellenic Studies

Director of Graduate Studies
Souleymane Bachir Diagne / French and Romance Philology
Director of Undergraduate Studies
Madeleine Dobie / French and Romance Philology

Associate Professor of French

Gil Anidjar / Religion, MESAAS

Professor of Religion, MESAAS

Jean Louise Cohen / Political Science

Nell and Herbert M. Singer Professor of Contemporary Civilization in the Core Curriculum 

Patricia Dailey / English

Associate Professor of English and Comparative Literature and Director of IRWGS

Mamadou Diouf / MESAAS / African Studies

Director, Institute of African Studies and Leitner Professor of African Studies 

Brent Hayes Edwards / English, Jazz Studies

Professor of English and Comparative Literature 

Bernard Harcourt / Columbia Law School

Isidor and Seville Sulzbacher Professor of Law and Director, Columbia Center for Contemporary Critical Thought

Founding Director
Andreas Huyssen / Germanic Languages

Villard Professor of German and Comparative Literature

Lydia Liu / East Asian Languages and Cultures

W.T. Tam Professor in the Humanities and Professor of Chinese and Comparative Literature


Reinhold Martin / Architecture

Associate Professor of Architecture

Rosalind Morris / Anthropology

Professor of Anthropology 

Anupama Rao / History, Barnard College

Associate Professor of South Asian History

Jesús Rodriguez-Velasco / Latin American and Iberian Cultures

Professor of Latin American and Iberian Cultures; Chair, Department of Latin American and Iberian Culture

Oliver Simons / Germanic Languages

Associate Professor of Germanic Languages

Founding Director

University Professor

W.B. Worthen / Department of Theatre, Barnard College

Chair, Department of Theatre Barnard College
Alice Brady Pels Professor in the Arts

Back to top

Photo Credits for ICLS